Current Issue

Current Issue
Subscribe to GR8 MAGAZINE Online

Subscribe for daily updates


Editor's Desk

Edit & More...

View all


Year : 2008
Location : Bhavan's Caltural Ground, Andheri (W), Mumbai

-Vierendra Bhargav

When Television Got Taller…

As the last dots of dusk dissolved into the pot of night, a quake came to the TVdom – a quake of earth shattering merriment and abandon. Before that, all roads had led to the Bhavan’s Cultural Ground in suburban Mumbai and the TV-fraternity had flocked en-block in there to revel and rejoice at their annual festival of joy called, The IDEA ITA Awards.

Now in the 8th year of a highly celebrated existence, this Awards Ceremony has always been and continues to be the Biggest Night of the Small Screen, where each year… Television got taller! It was a defining moment of The ITA’s care & concern for what is happening around us. Once again, they have shown that they are no mere naachnewale, gaanewale…

It was in this vein only that they also celebrated that night the grit and guts of those intrepid reporters, who gave us the minute-to-minute graphic coverage of the goings-on in the terror-stricken Mumbai at the risk of their very lives.

All said, it was a night like no other night – at least in the world of Television! If it gave you oodles of pleasure, it also gave you the punch of emotions. That’s how the Academy and its Awards have always been. Bravo…!

Special Awards:

The ITA Popular Icon (2008)
: Akshay Kumar

The GR8! Achiever Laurel (2008): Shilpa Shetty

The GR8! Little Wonder of TV: Dhriti Bhatia (Jai Shri Krishna)

Best Sports Personality of the Year
: Harsha Bhogle

General Jury Awards:

Best Serial Drama - Balika Vadhu

Best Director – Drama
- Siddhartha Sengupta & Pradeep Yadhav –Balika Vadhu

Best Actor – Drama - Deven Bhojani –Baa Bahoo Aur Baby

Best Actress – Drama - Avika Sameer Gor - Balika Vadhu

Best Serial – Comedy - The Week That Wasn't

Best Director – Comedy - Samir Kulkarni – Remote Control

Best Actor – Comedy
- Cyrus Broacha – The Week That Wasn't

Best Actress- Comedy
- Supriya Pathak - Remote Control & Disha Vakani - Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah

Best Actor in a Supporting Role - Ali Asgar – Kahaani Ghar Ghar Kii

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
- Sadiya Siddiqui – Balika Vadhu

Best Actor in a Negative Role
- Mukul Dev – Kumkum - Ek Pyara Sa Bandhan

Best Actress in a Negative Role
- Surekha Sikari – Balika Vadhu

Best Historical/Mythological Serial - Jai Shri Krishna

Best Child Artiste - Avika Sameer Gor - Balika Vadhu

Best Anchor - Game/Quiz Show - Shah Rukh Khan -Kya Aap Paanchvi Pass Se Tez Hain

Best Anchor - News/Current Affairs Show - Rajdeep Sardesai- Weekend Edition with Rajdeep Sardesai.

Best Anchor - Talk/Chat Show - Vikram Chandra - The Big Fight.

Best Anchor - Music & Film-based Show - Ali Asgar - Say Shava Shava

Best Game/Quiz Show - Kya Aap Paanchvi Fail Champu Hain?

Best News/Current Affairs Show - Weekend Edition with Rajdeep Sardesai

Best Talk/Chat Show - State of the Environment Poll - Bahar Dutt & Vaishali Sood

Best Music & Film-based Show - Boogie Woogie

Best Reality Show - Fear Factor - Khatron Ke Khiladi

Best Director Reality Show - Ajit Ahuja/Arjun Menon – Fear Factor - Khatron Ke Khiladi & Niret/Nikhil Alva –Naya Roop Nayi Zindagi

Best Reality Show (Comedy) - Comedy Circus-2 (Costume special)

Best Reality Show (Music & Dance) - Boogie Woogie

Best Title Music/Song Track - Lalit Sen - Balika Vadhu

Best Singer - Kavita Krishnamurthy - Jai Maa Durga & Sonu Nigam - Amber Dhara

Best Lyricist - Aatish Kapadia - Baa Bahoo Aur Baby

Best Television Event (Awards) - Idea IIFA Awards- Bangkok 2008

Best Thriller/Horror Serial - Ajeeb

Best Children's Programme - M.A.D - POGO

Best Cookery Show - Secret Kitchen (Orissa) - Bikramjit Ray & Sumit Sabherwal

Best Lifestyle Show - Making of the King Fisher Calendar - NDTV

BestTelevision Event - Jai Jawan with Dhoni - NDTV

Best Travel - based Show - My India Report - Channel (V)

Jury Technical Awards:

Best Art Direction
- Chokas Bharadwaj - Jai Shri Krishna

Best Costumes - Sheela Sagar - Jai Shri Krishna

Best Dialogues
- Raghuvir Shekhawat - Balika Vadhu

Best Editing
- Koteswara Rao - Scaling New Heights

Best Interstitial / Filler - Environment Day - NDTV

Best Makeup - G A James - Saas V/S Bahu

Best Mini-series
- NDTV - Under water The Hidden Truth

Best Telefilm
- Ye Kaisa Bachpana - Mrigakshi Shukla & Abhishek

Best Teleplay - Purnendu Shekhar, Rajesh Dubey & Gajra Kottary – Balika Vadhu

Best TV Documentary - Was that My Baby Crying - Sutapa Deb

Best Videography - Sanjay Memane - Balika Vadhu

Best Visual Effects
- Amit Kalra, Abhishek Batra & Gaurav Puri - The Next Big Thing

Popular Awards:

Idea Champion Show of the year - Sapna Babul Ka… Bidaai

Best Actor - Angad Hasija - Sapna Babul Ka… Bidaai

Best Actress - Parul Chauhan & Sarah Khan - Sapna Babul Ka… Bidaai

GR8! Face Male - Vikrant Massey

GR8! Face Female - Sanaya Irani

Idea Glamour Face of the year Male - Indraneil Sengupta

Idea Glamour Face of the year Female
- Jaswir Kaur

Best Sports Personality of the year - Harsha Bhogle

Best Entertainment Channel
- Star Plus

Best Hindi News Channel
- Aaj Tak

Best English News Channel - CNN IBN

Best Business Channel

Best Children's Channel - Cartoon Network

Music Channel
- Channel V

Best Hindi Movie Channel
- Zee Cinema

Fashion & Lifestyle Channel - NDTV Good Times