Current Issue

Current Issue
Subscribe to GR8 MAGAZINE Online

Subscribe for daily updates


Editor's Desk

Edit & More...

GR8! Moments of The ITA-2013 awards.
View all


Year : 2007

Celebrating Womanhood:

On 27th February, ’07, the lawns of the ITC Grand Maratha Sheraton were witness to a momentous occasion. The Kelvinator GR8! Women Awards, 2007 was held there in the presence of illustrious glitterati. The Awards are an endeavour of the GR8! TV Magazine, which is an initiative of The Indian Television Academy.

The evening was also marked by some dazzling performances. The pice-de-rsistance was the Act by Gulshan Grover, which depicted how the unconquerable Evil was conquered by the Stree (played by Payal Rohtagi), when all others failed. It had its Operatic moments, interspersed by some peppy numbers.

Then, there was a medley performed by Rajshree Thakur, Roopa Ganguly, Barkha Bisht Sengupta and Surveen Chawala..

Roop Kumar Rathod took the evening to a sublime plane by his, ‘Maula Maula’, ‘Dil Ko Tumse’, etc. Playing perfect counter to it was Rakhi Sawant, who sizzled with her Lavni Act.

Then, Tarana and Jasweer Kaur performed in tandem some of the most memorable duo-numbers of our films like, ‘Kajara Mohabbatwala’, ‘Aplam Chaplam’, ‘Hansta Hua Noorani Chehra’ etc.

And to cap it all, there was this musical tribute to Saira Banu, wherein her all-time hits like ‘Dil-Vil Payar-Vyar’, ‘Ud Ke Pawan Ke Sang Chalungi’, ‘Main Chali Main Chali’ were performed by Gauri Nigudkar, Parakh Madan and Aanchal Dwivedi.

The evening shone because of the presence of many a celebrity. To name a few, there were worthies like Dilip Kumar, Saira Banu, Yash Chopra, Javed Akhtar, T. Subbarami Reddy, Karan Johar, Sanjay Dutt, Mithun Chakraborty, Pankaj Udhas, Satish Shah, Ranjeet, Talat Aziz, Varun & Rajeshwari Badola, Rohit & Mansi Roy, Shveta Salve, Rakesh Bedi, Urvashi Dholakia, Delnaz Irani, Rajiv Paul, Sameer Soni, Sudhanshu Pandey, Narayani Shastri, Gaurav Chopraa, Yukta Mookhey, Saumya Tandon, Geeta Nair and top-notch Business & Corporate tycoons, Pradeep Dhoot, M K Sharma, Ajay Bimbhet, Sushil Jiwrajka, Colvyn Harris to name a few.


GR8! Lifetime Achievement- Saira Banu

GR8! Special Laurel, 2007 -
Nilofar Bakhtiar (Minister for Tourism, Pakistan)

GR8! Scroll of Honour -
Yamini Krishnamurthy

Politics -
Renuka Chowdhury

Cinema -
Priyanka Chopra

Writing -
Shobhaa De

Journalism -
Anita Pratap

Business -
Anu Aga

Medicine / Healthcare -
Dr. Ketayun Dinshaw

Advertising -
Meenakshi Madhvani

Music -
Alka Yagnik

Fine-Arts -
Jayshree Burman

Sports -
Dola Banerjee

Young FLO Entrepreneur -
Suhag Khemlani

Beauty -
Amruta Patki

Education -
Dr. Sudha Kaul

Fashion/Style - Anna Singh

Finance -
Renu Sud Karnad

Young Entrepreneur -
Pooja Shetty

Dance -
Shovana Narayan

Banking -
Chanda Kochhar

Special Mention -
Neelam Katara

Social-Services -
Rohini Nilekani