Current Issue

Current Issue
Subscribe to GR8 MAGAZINE Online

Subscribe for daily updates


Editor's Desk

Edit & More...

View all


Hero Honda Indian Television Academy Awards 2002
Year: 2002
Location: Renaissance Hotel, Powai

The evening was virtually flooded with mega stars of Films & TV both. The auditorium at the Renaissance, Powai, was choc-a-block with 1800 persons, while, at any given time, more than 500 hanged around in the foyer outside, waiting to get a peep inside.

The galaxy of film luminaries present , comprised Mahesh Bhatt, who opened the evening, Sanjay Dutt, Anil Kapoor, Jackie Shroff, Ajay Devgn, Raveena Tandon, Yukta Mookhey, Ramesh Sippy, Yash Chopra, Javed Akhtar, Pooja Bhatt, Sanjay Gupta, Madhur Bhandarkar, Jatin, Lalit, Udit Narayan to name a few.

Similarly, there were TV Stars of the stature of Smriti Malhotra Irani, Mohnish Bahl, Achint Kaur, Pankaj Kapur, Govind Namdeo, Ajit Vachani, Gurdeep Kohli, Sangeeta Ghosh, Swapnil Joshi, Niki Aneja Walia, Surekha Sikri, Supriya Pilgaonkar, Tanaaz Irani, Derek O' Brien, Iravati Harshe, Shefali Shah, Barkha Dutt, Sonali Chander, Arun Thapar, Joy Bhattacharjya, Harsha Bhogle, Sanjay Manjrekar and a vast multitude of others - they were all there ‘To celebrate the Glory of Indian Television’ as the ITA President Anu Ranjan emphasized.

The show was anchored by Sudha Chandran, Sajid Khan, Archana Puran Singh, Aly Khan, Dilip Joshi, Rohit Roy, Deepak Tijori, Mandira Bedi, Simone Singh, Ketki Dave, Deven Bhojani and Shruti Ulfat. The evening’s highlights were spoofs performed by Rakesh Bedi, Ketki Dave, Sushmita Mukherjee, Sanjay Mishra and Sooraj Thapar that sent the house reeling with laughter.

The performance by crooners like Vasundhara Das and Jasbir Jassi was truly pulse pounding. The piece-de-resistance of the evening was the special finale and other numbers choreographed and performed by the inimitable Shiamak Davar along with his troupe and TV Stars like Ishita Arun, Gurdeep Kohli, Nigaar Khan and Rupali Ganguly.

General Jury Awards:

Best Teleplay - Haqeeqat - Charudutt Acharya

Best Dialogues - Office Office - Ashwni Dhir

Best Title Music
- Now in Europe - B4U Music

Best Serial (Drama)
- C.I.D - BP Singh/Pradeep Uppoor

Best Serial (Comedy) - Office Office - Rajiv Mehra/Amit Mehra/SAB TV

Best Game Quiz Show - Super Selector - ESPN Software India Pvt. Ltd.

Best Mythological/Historical Serial - Amrapali - D. Venkateswara Rao/ Dhillin Mehta

Best Actor (Drama) - Sanjivani -A Medical Boon - Mohnish Bahl

Best Actress (Drama)
- Dhadkan - Achint Kaur

Best Actor (Comedy)
- Office Office - Pankaj Kapur

Best Actress (Comedy) - Tu Tu Main Main - Supriya Pilgaonkar

Best Anchor (Game/Quiz Show) - Super Selector - Naseeruddin Shah

Best Anchor (Music/Films Show) - MTV Fresh - Nikhil Chinappa

Best Anchor (News/Current Affairs) - Reality Bites (Omar Gujarat) - Barkha Dutt

Best Anchor (Sports Show)
- Sports Tonight - Sonali Chander

Best Cookery Show - Khana Khazana - Sanjeev Kapoor

Best Children’s Programme
- Cadbury Bournvita Quiz Contest - Derek O'Brien & Associates

Best Mini Series - Izzat Ka Falooda - Manjul Sinha

Best Director (Drama) - Haqeeqat - Sourabh Narang

Best Director (Comedy) - Office Office - Rajiv Mehra

Best Talk/Chat Show
- We The People - New Delhi Television Limited

Best Music & Film Based Show - Kuch Yaadein Kuch Baatein - Miditech Pvt.Ltd.

Best Interstitials/Fillers
- Kiran - Umesh Aggarwal

Best Television Event
- Screen Awards - Cineyug Entertainment Pvt. Ltd.

Jury Technical Awards:

Best Art Direction - Amrapali - Jayant Deshmukh

Best Costumes - Amrapali - Mala Dey

Best Make Up
- Ramayan - Chaman Kundal

Best Audiography
- Ramayan - Suhas Kulkarni/Ramesh Rathod

Best Editing - The Year that Shook the World (International Year ender) - Aparna Roy/Anand Kumar

Best Cinematography / Videography
- Amrapali - Mahesh Talkad

Popular Awards:

Best Actor - Kyunki Saans Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi - Cezanne Khan

Best Actress - Kyunki Saans Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi - Smriti Malhotra Irani

Best News Channel - Aaj Tak

Best Music Channel - MTV

Best Sports Channel - ESPN

Best Host / Hostess
- Khulja Sim Sim

Best Serial - Kyunki Saans Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi

Best Niche Channel
- Discovery