Current Issue

Current Issue
Subscribe to GR8 MAGAZINE Online

Subscribe for daily updates


Editor's Desk

Edit & More...

View all


The Hero Honda Television Academy Awards, 2006
Year: 2006
Location: Bhavan's Cultural Ground No. 3 Andheri (W), Mumbai

It was a night like no other night, when the Stars sizzled and burst out on a humongous set that recreated the fantasia of Egyptian magic on it. People were agape at the fantastically lit structure before them and marvelled at the Egyptian motifs.

Says The ITA President, Anu Ranjan, ‘Indeed, we are proud of the fact that the HHITA Awards have become an Annual Festival of joy for the Industry and the response of the entire TV-fraternity is electric, as can be seen with this tremendous presence and participation of the who’s who of Television in here.’

Shashi Ranjan, Convenor, The ITA further elaborates, ‘Creating an Award is one thing, bonding it with the fraternity for whom it has been created, is another. This is where the ITA has scored with flying colours. Today, the HHITA Awards are well and truly of Television, for Television, by Television…!’

In sum, Television, on that evening, got some more sheen to itself by this scintillating Event of high-octane pageantry.

The Awards:

The ITA Scroll of Honour (Media): Mr. Vineet Jain

GR8! Face of Year the Male
: Hussain Kuwajerwala

GR8! Face of the Year Female: Mandira Bedi

General Jury Awards:


Best Cookery Show - Khana Khazana

Best Television Event - MTV Immies 2005

Best Interstitials/Fillers
- Lolaway Products - Channel [V]

Best Mini Series - Great Indian Laughter Challenge Dwitiya -Endemol India Pvt. Ltd.

Best Religion -based Show - Yatra - Deepti Bhatnagar Productions Pvt. Ltd.

Best TV Documentary
- Rasika Tyagi - Missing in Action

Best Telefilm
- Aur Ek Kahani 'Kaun Jeeta Kaun Haara' - Manju Singh & Gautam Singh

Best Travel-based Show - Musafir Hoon Yaaron - Deepti Bhatnagar Productions Pvt. Ltd.

Best Music & Film Based Show - Nach Baliye - SOL

Best Anchor Music/Films based Show - Sangeeta Ghosh & Shabir Ahluwalia - Nach Baliye

Best News/Current Affairs Show - Poll Khol - Bag Films Ltd.

Best Anchor News/Current Affairs - Sreenivasan Jain - Witness

Best Talk/Chat Show - Muqabla - NDTV

Best Anchor Talk/Chat Show - Lola Kutty (Lola T[V]) & Barkha Dutt (We the People)

Best Game show/Quiz show - Kaun Banega Crorepati -2 - Synergy Communications Pvt. Ltd.

Best Anchor Game Quiz Show - Amitabh Bachchan - Kaun Banega Crorepati -2

Best Reality Show - Shabaash India - Abhilash Bhattacharya & Zee Telefilms Ltd.

Best Thriller/Horror Serial - Akela - Fire Works Production

Best Historical/Mythological Show
- Prithviraj Chauhan - Sagar Entertainment Ltd.

Best Director – Comedy - Rajiv Mehra - Naya Office Office

Best Serial – Comedy - Naya Office Office - Eagle Films Pvt. Ltd.

Best Director – Drama
- Sumitra Bhave & Sunil Sukhtankar - Aur Ek Kahani 'Kaun Jeeta Kaun Hara'

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
- Vaishalee Thakkar - Baa Bahu Aur Baby

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
- Ali Asgar - Kahaani Ghar Ghar Kii

Best Actress – Comedy - Divya Dutta - Shanno Ki Shaadi

Best Actor in a Comic Role - Deven Bhojani - Baa Bahu Aur Baby

Best Actress in a Negative Role - Achint Kaur - Kahaani Ghar Ghar Kii

Best Actor in a Negative Role - Aman Verma - Virasat

Best Actress – Drama - Shweta Prasad
- Aur Ek Kahani 'Prempatra'

Best Actor- Drama - Ram Kapoor - Kasamh Se

Best Serial – Drama - Kasamh Se - Zee Telefilms Ltd

Jury Technical Awards:

Best Make-Up - Hari Dhondu Nawar - Prithviraj Chauhan

Best Costumes - Tara Deasai, Nisha Sagar, Neerusha - Prithviraj Chauhan

Best Art Director
- Omung Kumar Bhandula (Prithviraj Chauhan) & Sumitra Bhave (Aur Ek Kahani 'Kaun Jeeta Kaun Hara'

Best Audiography - Ashmat Mulla - Aur Ek Kahani ' Kaun Jeeta Kaun Hara'

Best Singer - Kailash Kher - Shabaash India

Best Title Music/Song Track - Pritam (Kavyanjali) & Lalit Sen (Saat Phere...Saloni Ka Safar)

Best Editing - Koteswara Rao - The Last Goodbye-Missing in Action

Best Visual Effects
- Fire Works Production - Akela

Best Videography - Dhananjay Kulkarni- Aur Ek Kahani 'Kaun Jeeta Kaun Hara'

Best Teleplay - Anil Nagpal - Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi

Best Dialogues - Ashwni Dhir - Naya Office Office

Best Lyricist
- Nawab Arzoo - Kumkum -Pyara Sa Bandhan

Popular Awards:

Best Actor - Rohit Roy - Virasat

Best Actress - Rajshree Thakur - Saat Phere...Saloni Ka Safar

Best Serial - Saat Phere...Saloni Ka Safar

Best Entertainment Channel - Star Plus

Best TV Host - Rajdeep Sardesai

Best News Channel Hindi
- Aaj Tak

Best News Channel English - CNN-IBN

Best Music Channel

Best Hindi Movie Channe
l - Zee Cinema

Best Children's Channel - Disney

Best Sports Channel - ESPN