Current Issue

Current Issue
Subscribe to GR8 MAGAZINE Online

Subscribe for daily updates


Editor's Desk

Edit & More...

View all


The Indian Television Academy Awards, 2009
Year: 2009
Location: Bhavan’s Cultural Ground, Andheri (W), Mumbai

-Vierendra Bhargav

On the 1st of December, The ITA held its prestigious The Indian Television Academy Awards, ’09 at Bhavan’s Cultural Ground in Andheri. Now in the 9th year of a highly celebrated existence, these Awards, today, are the most coveted stamp of excellence in Television, wherein the entire TV-fraternity participates to make it the annual festival of joy in the world of Television.

This year, the entries from the industry into the various categories touched a historic 2,500 plus that were put under the scanner by a 2-tier Jury, comprising highly distinguished professionals in the genre and headed by the inimitable Aroona Irani.

True to its reputation and its tradition, the Event turned out to be highest-voltage spectacle of Television in the country.

Finally, the fire-works exploded, virtually lighting up the sky and the confetti filled the air as the TV-fraternity stood on that humongous set, asserting for the 9th time that The ITA and its Awards are the biggest and the only platform for them to come together as a united force.

Special Awards:

The ITA Scroll of Honour (Entertainment), 2009 - Ranbir Kapoor, Katrina Kaif, Rajkumar Santoshi and Ramesh Taurani (Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani)

The ITA Scroll of Honour (Television) - Anuj Kapoor, SONY SAB TV

The GR8! Ensemble Cast, 2009 - UTTARAN

General Jury Awards:

Best Serial (Drama) - Agle Janam Mohe Bitiya Hi Kijo AND Balika Vadhu

Best Director (Drama) - Siddhartha Sengupta & Pradeep Yadav (Balika Vadhu)

Best Actor (Drama) - Ronit Roy (Bandini)

Best Actress (Drama) Ratan Rajput (Agle Janam Mohe Bitiya Hi Kijo)

Best Actor (Comedy) - Cyrus Broacha (The Week That Wasn't)

Best Actress (Comedy)
- Disha Vakani (Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah)

Best Serial (Comedy)
- Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah

Best Director – Comedy - Dharampal Thakur, Nikul Desai & Vipul D Shah (Kaante Ki Takkar)

Best Thriller/Horror Serial

Best Historical/Mythological Serial - Meera (Moti Sagar, Amrit Sagar & Meenakshi Sagar)

Best Actor in a Negative Role - Sudesh Berry (Agle Janam Mohe Bitiya Hi Kijo)

Best Actress in a Negative Role
- Surekha Sikri (Balika Vadhu)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
- Aditya Lakhia (Agle Janam Mohe Bitiya Hi Kijo)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
- Smita Bansal (Balika Vadhu)

Best Anchor - Game/Quiz Show - Salman Khan (10 Ka Dum)

Best Anchor - Talk/Chat Show
– Female - Dr. Kiran Bedi (Aap Ki Kachehri)

Best Anchor - Talk/Chat Show – Male - Rajdeep Sardesai (Battle For India)

Best Anchor - News/Current Affair Show - Prabhu Chawla (Seedhi Baat)

Best Anchor - Music/Films-based Show - Meiyang Chang (India Idol 4)

Best Child Artiste -
Avika Gor (Balika Vadhu)

Best Talk/Chat Show - Tere Mere Beach Mein (Farah Khan)

Best Game Show/Quiz Show
- Sach Ka Saamna

Best Reality Show
- Aap Ki Kachehri

Best Music & Film-based Show - India Idol 4

Best News/Current Affairs Show - CJ Show

Best Television Event - IIFA (WIZCRAFT)

Best Children’s Programme
- M. A. D. - Make it Easy (Turner International India Pvt. Ltd.)

Best Interstitial/Filler - AIDS PSA (Rahul) (Shelley Sharma)

Best Travel-Based Show -
No Big Deal (Devika Anand & Neha Dixit)

Best TV Documentary -
India Innovates (Malini Kumar)

Best Mini-Series -
Born Wild: Out of Africa (Swati Thyagarajan)

Best Life Style Show - Spectacular Spas For Men (Arun Thapar)

Jury Technical Awards:

Best Audiography - Foot Candles Films Pvt. Ltd. (DLF-IPL Campaign Film 2009)

Best Visual Effects - Turner International India Pvt. Ltd. (Kul Veera)

Best Videography - Sanjay Memane & Anil Katke (Balika Vadhu)

Best Editing - Vikas Singh, Tarique Ahmed & Devang Kakkad (Ladies Special)

Best Art Direction -
Nitin Chandrakant Desai (Chittod Ki Rani Padmini Ka Johur)

Best Teleplay -
Purnendu Shekhar, Rajesh Dubey & Gajra Kottary (Balika Vadhu)

Best Dialogues - Usha Dixit (Balika Vadhu)

Best Lyricist - Raajesh Johri (Chittod Ki Rani Padmini Ka Johur)

Best Title –
Music Track - Lalit Sen (Balika Vadhu)

Best Costumes - Neeta Lulla (Chittod Ki Rani Padmini Ka Johur)

Best Singer -
Sonu Nigam (Dill Mill Gayye)

Popular Awards:

Best Serial
- Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai (Rajan Shahi)

Best Actor
- Karan Mehra (Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai)

Best Actress
- Hina Khan (Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai)

Best News Channel (Hindi) - Aaj Tak

Best News Channel (English) -

Best Entertainment Channel - COLORS

Best Fashion/Lifestyle Channel -