Current Issue

Current Issue
Subscribe to GR8 MAGAZINE Online

Subscribe for daily updates


Editor's Desk

Edit & More...

GR8! Moments of The ITA-2013 awards.
View all


Maruti Suzuki The 10th Indian Television Academy Awards, 2010
Year: 2010
Location: Bhavan's Cultural Ground No. 3, Andheri (W), Mumbai

- Vierendra Bhargav

A Spectacular Night...

The Indian Television Academy made TV feel taller on the 31st October,’10 when the 10th ITA Awards was held at Bhavan’s Cultural Ground in Andheri. The Academy celebrated the 10th year of its crowning glory.

This year, the entries from the Channels and Production-houses touched a historic upwards of two and a half thousand. That proved, if ever one was needed, the total trust of the industry in the Awards.

Not only this, the TV-watchers at large also hold the Awards in implicit trust as was evident by the nearly 5,50,000 votes polled in the polling for the ‘Popular’ segment.

The ITA Awards are also known for its ‘Special Honours’ every year, besides those concerning TV. It earmarks signal achievements from the general stream of the country and accords recognition to them.

In that vein, the Academy decided to honour a few of those who have done the country proud this year in the Commonwealth Games. Hence, Gold-winners like Manoj Kumar (Boxing), Omkar Singh, Harpreet Singh, Vijay Kumar, Gurpreet Singh, Anisa Sayeed, Gagan Narang (Shooting), Jwala Gutta & Ashwini Ponnappa (Badminton) were decorated with The ITA honours.

Indeed, it was such a sublime moment to watch those glorious achievers striding to the stage for receiving their trophies, to a thunderous applause from the audience!

The Awards:

The ITA Special Achiever 2010 - CWG GOLD MEDALIST - Ashwini Ponnappa, Jwala Gutta, Harpreet Singh, Gurpreet Singh, Vijay Kumar Sharma, Anisa Sayeed, Suranjoy Singh and Manoj Kumar Kaltagediya.

The ITA Special Mention ‘2010’
- Wizcraft


The GR8! Laurel for Ensemble Acting 2010 - Balika Vadhu

General Jury Awards:

Best Serial - Sasural Genda Phool (Ravi Ojha Productions)

Best Actor Drama - Jai Sony (Sasural Genda Phool)

Best Actress Drama
- Surekha Sikri (Balika Vadhu)

Best Director - Drama - Rajesh Ram Singh (Agle Janam Mohe Bitiya Hi Kijo)

Best Serial - Comedy - FIR (Edit II Production Pvt. Ltd.)

Best Actor – Comedy - Rohitashv Gour (Lapataganj)

Best Actress - Comedy - Kavita Kaushik (FIR)

Best Thriller / Horror Serial - CID (Pradeep Upoor & BP Singh) & Powder

Best Historical / Mythological Serial - Jhansi Ki Rani (Contiloe Entertainment Pvt. Ltd.)

Best Actor in a Negative Role - Anupam Shyam Ojha (Mann Kee Awaaz … Pratigya)

Best Actress in a Negative Role
- Meghna Malik (Na Aana is Des Laado)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role - Ayub Khan (Uttaran)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role - Supriya Pilgaonkar (Sasural Genda Phool)

Best Anchor - Talk/Chat Show - Amitabh Bachchan (Bigg Boss Season -3)

Best Anchor - Music/Films-based Show - Shahid Kapur (Nokia 16th Annual Star Screen Awards)

Best Anchor - News/Current Affair Show
- Rajdeep Sardesai (Ground Zero Bhopal))

Best Anchor - Game/Quiz Show -
Rajeev Khandelwal (Sach Ka Saamna)

Best Child Artiste
- Avika Gor (Balika Vadhu)

Best Talk/Chat Show
- Children’s day at 7 RCR -Suhasini Haidar & Rajen Garabadu - CNN-IBN

Best Game Show/Quiz Show
- Mahindra AQ Quiz - NDTV PROFIT

Best Reality Show - Stunt Mania

Best Music & Film-based Show - Indian Idol -5 (Sony Entertainment Channel / Wizcraft Intl. Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. & Fremantle)

Best News/Current Affairs Show - Killed in the name of Honour - Nilanjana Bose

Best Children’s Programme - Boogie Woogie

Best Cookery Show - Khana Khazana (Sanjeev Kapoor)

Best Interstitial/Filler - Good Times India Celebrating Who We Are (Richa Arora, Harisha H R, Mayukh Hazarika)

Best Lifestyle Show - Style Alert

Best Mini Series - Secret Lives (Season 2) (Secret Lives - NDTV 24X7)

Best Television - PAKA Awards (Miditech Pvt. Ltd.)

Best Travel-based Show - Ten Things to do before you say bye (NDTV GOOD TIMES TRAVEL TEAM)

Best TV Documentary - Village of Widows (Ashoke Pandit)

Jury Technical Awards:

Best Title Music/Song Track - Shankar, Ehsaan & Loy (Rang Badalti Odhani)

Best Singer
- Shankar Mahadevan (Rang Badalti Odhani)

Best Art Direction - Samir Chanda (Bigg Boss Season -3)

Best Audiography - Suhas Rane (Balika Vadhu)

Best Costumes - Winnie Malhotra & Neelu Shroff (Balika Vadhu)

Best Dialogues - Usha Dixit (Balika Vadhu)

Best Editing
- Inside: Mumbai Terror Attacks (Sanjeev Nag)

Best Lyricist - Subrat Sinha (Star Parivaar Awards)

Best Teleplay
- Rajesh Dubey, Purnendu Shekhar & Gajra Kottary (Balika Vadhu)

Best Videography
- Nigam Bomzan (Seven)

Best Visual Effects - Aahat (Sujit Pattnaik & Tanmoy Ghosh)

Popular Awards:

Best Serial – Drama - Mann Kee Awaaz Pratigya (Walkwater Media Ltd)

Best Actor - Drama - Sushant Singh Rajput (Pavitra Rishta)

Best Actress – Drama
- Rashami Desai (Uttaran)

Best Serial - Comedy - Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah (Neela Telefilms Pvt. Ltd. - Asit Kumar Modi)

GR8! FACE OF YEAR (2010) {MALE} - Harshad Chopda

GR8! FACE OF YEAR (2010) {FEMALE} - Ankita Lokhande

Best Entertainment Channel
- Star Plus

Best Hindi News Channel -
Aaj Tak

Best English News Channel

Best Fashion & Lifestyle Channel - Zoom Entertainment Network

Best Business News Channel - CNBC TV 18