Current Issue

Current Issue
Subscribe to GR8 MAGAZINE Online

Subscribe for daily updates


Editor's Desk

Edit & More...

View all

The 12th Kelvinator GR8! Women Awards, 2013

On the 9th March, ’13, The 12th Kelvinator GR8! Women Awards were held at the ritzy Hotel ‘Lalit’ in Mumbai.

These Awards enjoy a unique status in the country, today, for having pioneered the first ever exclusive platform for according recognition & honours to the Women Achievers of the land. Such an exceptional endeavour has touched its 12th milepost, now and the Awards Ceremony was bathed in rare razzmatazz, besides being studded with the Crme-de-la-crme of the different walks of life.

Celebrating the glory of Indian Womanhood, it recognises the female contribution of tremendous proportions in various categories like, Art, Cinema, Science & Technology, Education, Social Service, Corporate, Banking etc.

Over its span of more than a decade, such illustrious Women have been decorated with the GR8! Honours as Smt. Shelia Dixit, Ms. Nita Ambani, Ms. Aishwarya Rai, Smt. Rajshree Birla, Ms. Sushmita Sen, Ms. Medha Patkar, Smt. Mahashweta Devi, Ms. Yamini Krishnamurthy, Ms. Sonal Mansingh, Smt. Gayatri Devi… and what have you!

‘The GR8! Women Award’s is also a platform for the NGO, ‘Beti’, which is a movement against atrocities perpetrated on Women all across the country. Besides, it’s a voice against such Social scourges as Female Foeticide and so on.

This year, the Awards have been embellished with another feather – The celebration of the completion of 100 years of Indian Cinema. In this, the historic contribution of Women in Indian Cinema, be it on or off the Silver Screen, is celebrated through nostalgia, heart-touching Trivia, while adorning many a distinguished Woman Achiever in the realms of Indian Cinema!

Says Anu Ranjan, Editor GR8! TV Mag, ‘Celebrating the completion of the 100 years of Indian Cinema with spotlight on the contribution of Women there, along with Women Achievers from other walks of life has been the most fulfilling experience for us. It has elevated GR8! Women Awards to a still higher notch, which knows no parallel!’

Shashi Ranjan, Publisher, GR8! TV Mag elaborates further…
‘Where else can you get to see such a galaxy of Women of substance from across the whole spectrum of Society? These Awards are an Ode, a Salute to the Indian Womanhood and from this platform, exclusively created for female accomplishments, the message is sent across in no uncertain terms that Women are the spinal support and the sheet-anchors of the Society and the country as well!’

The evening was dotted with dazzling performances by TV-hearthrobs as Gurmeet Choudhary, Sharad Kelkar, Sanjeeda & Aamir Ali, Prachi Desai, Zarine Khan, Dipika Samson, Shreejita Dey and Gauhar Khan and show anchored by Mantra and Karan Grover.

Those decorated at the Evening comprised…
Ms. Radhika Sarath Kumar, Ms. Shakuntala Devi, Ms. Farah Khan, Ms. Asin Thottumkal, Smt. Sulochana Devi, Smt. Seema Deo and others of their distinguished ilk!

Kelvinator GR8! WOMEN AWARDS 2013 - Winners

Category Winners

GR8! Golden Laurel Hon. Smt. Shakuntala Devi
GR8! Lifetime Achievement Award� Ms. Mala Sinha
GR8! Golden Laurel – Cinema� Hon. Smt. Sulochana Devi
Banking Ms. Kalpana Morapia
GR8! Scroll Of Honour - Cinema Ms. Radhika Sarathkumar
Cinema Ms. Asin Thottumkal
GR8! Special Mention - Community Service� Ms. Anjali Gopalan
GR8! Special Mention-Child Welfare Ms. Sonal Kapoor
GR8! Special Mention- 'beti' Ms. Puja Kapoor
Gallantry Ms. Major Mitali Madhumita
Education� Ms. Uma Tuli
Music Ms. Alka Yagnik
Excellence in Versatility - Cinema Ms. Farah Khan
The GR8! Cine - Achievement Award Ms. Raveena Tandon
GR8! Special Mention - Cinema Smt. Seema Deo
Bravery Ms. Sangita Bauri, Ms. Bina Kalindi & Ms. Mukti Majhi
Fine Arts Ms. Rouble Nagi
Kelvinator GR8! Coolest Award - Fashion - Mother-Daughter Duo Ms. Neeta Lulla & Ms. Nishka Lulla
Directing Ms. Reema Kagti
GR8! Special Mention - Doing India Proud Ms. Prachi Mishra, Ms. Vanya Mishra & Ms. Rochelle Maria Rao
Costume Designing Ms. Bhanu Athaiya
Politics Hon. Sushree Mamata Banerjee(rep.)
Television Ms. Tina Dutta, Ms. Deepika Singh & Ms. Disha Vakani